A Note to My Daughters

I started watching “The X Factor” last year and fell in love with the voices of so many talented people, especially two very special young girls. Well, of course this year I was glued to the television for every episode including the auditions where I heard the voices and stories of two amazing young people and one amazing woman.

Carlos Guevara had an amazing story to share with the world when he spoke of his life dealing with Tourette Syndrome and then brought me to tears with his rendition of John Mayer’s “Gravity”. Sadly he was voted off, but I feel that powerful young man will not just fade into the wind.

Then I was blown away by this amazing thirteen year old; Rion Paige, permanently blind in her right eye and has a condition called arthrogryposis multiplex congenita, which makes the joints in her hands curve in a debilitating way. Although she might seem handicap this is far from the truth and with a voice like an angel she is a force to be reckoned with.

She introduced herself to with world during the auditions singing Carrie Underwood’s “Blown Away” and did just that; blew everyone away. She went on to sing many other great versions of well known songs, like Lady Gaga’s “Born This Way” and practical brought me to tears. Tonight she song Elton John’s “Your Song” and I sat here in tears just amazed by her strength, passion, and determination.

Lastly, Lillie McCloud; a 54 year old grandmother with a voice that can break down walls. Tonight she did her own rendition of “A Woman’s Worth” and prompted me to write this post. Sitting here watching these amazing people I started thinking about not only myself, but also my daughter’s, and they made me want to work even harder. They reminded me that you can do anything you put your mind to and that it is never to late to fulfill your dreams.

So in saying all that, this message is for my most precious people in my life. I want you girls to know that there is nothing you can not do, you are strong, brave, beautiful, smart, talented, and much more. I want you to never let anyone tell you that you can not do something, or you will not succeed. Please always look at everything and everyone around you, pull from them some of the greatness they release into the world everyday. Remember that you to spread greatness, you just have to know and believe it and with that knowledge you will never fail.

Everyday I beat myself up; sometimes a little, sometimes a lot, I knock myself down because I don’t write enough, because I can be indecisive a lot. Forgetting that I am wonderful, I am beautiful, talented, and inspirational. I am a woman, a mother, and a sister, I am me, and those are the words I want you to never forget. You are you, great and perfect just the way you are, never shy away from your beauty and never say, “I can’t”, because you can do whatever you decide to do.

To my daughters, if I never give you anything of true value, I give you this:

You can do and be whatever you want to, you need never change who you are to please anyone, if people can’t love you for you, then you never needed them in your life to  begin with. You will have good and bad, but remember some people have none. When things start to feel like they are becoming to much, just remember this; there is always someone worst off than you, so be grateful for everyone and everything you have, because everything can be taken away before you know it.

VSB

Our struggles will make us legendary

Leave a Reply

