I Am

I am more then this outer shell that you see everyday.
More then my name, my height, and my weight.
I am definitely more then the style of my hair.
More then the title of my career or the name of my degree.
I am more then my sexual preference or the color of my skin.
More then my flaws and absolutely more then my perfections.

I am me, flawed and perfect, scarred and beautiful.
I am a mother, a wife, a sister, and a daughter.
I am a writer, a student, a seeker, and a teacher.

I am African American, a lesbian, and 100% Woman.
I am queen, I am worthy, I am sometimes a pain, but am always a shoulder for a head that’s in need.

I am me, a bag full of wonderful things.
I am more then this outer shell you see.
I strong, I am fragile, I am alive and I am here for all to see.

Leave a Reply

